THE FOOTBALL Association of Wales have announced their new reserve league structure for the upcoming season.

This is part of the FAW’s complete overhaul of the Welsh domestic pyramid from Tier 3 down, and this latest move has been implemented with a view to creating a better player development pathway for clubs across the country.

Clubs from the JD Cymru Premier down to Tier 3 level are permitted to take part, with the Reserve League North West boasting plenty of established sides looking to make their mark.

A total of 67 clubs from the National Leagues have entered sides into the newly formed divisions, which will begin when it is safe to do so.

Bala Town are the only top-flight side with a reserve team in the North West league, with JD Cymru North champions Prestatyn Town’s second-unit also part of the division.

Others Tier 2 clubs include Conwy Borough, Holyhead Hotspur, Holywell Town, Llandudno and Llangefni Town also part of the new structure.

Plenty of Tier 3 teams will also be testing their skills against other reserve sides from a higher tier, with Porthmadog, Denbigh Town, Nantlle Vale, Llanrwst United and St Asaph City rounding off the 12-team league.

A similar format is expected to be implemented by the North Wales Coast Football Association relating to Tiers 4 and 5, with an official announcement expected in due course.

FAW Reserve League North West: Bala Town, Conwy Borough, CPD Porthmadog, Denbigh Town, Dyffryn Nantlle Vale, Holyhead Hotspur, Holywell Town, Llandudno, Llangefni Town, Llanrwst United, Prestatyn Town, St Asaph City.