BANGOR 1876 booked their place in the JD Welsh Cup first round with a convincing 6-2 home win over Penrhyndeudraeth.

The newly formed Gwynedd League side made light work of their third-tier opponents to pick up another notable scalp against higher league opposition, and veteran striker Les Davies got the hosts off to a flyer with a neat finish past Robert Jones during the opening exchanges.

Davies was a constant thorn in the visitors’ side and he doubled their advantage with his second of the afternoon on 17 minutes with a thumping effort from just outside the area, and Dylan Summers-Jones prodded home from close range with 19 gone to treble their tally.

The home side managed to seal their passage to the next stage of the competition in first half stoppage time when Davies successfully secured his hat trick from the penalty spot after Summers-Jones had been felled in the box.

After the break saw 1876 increase their comfortable advantage on 63 minutes when Davies rounded off an exceptional individual display with his fourth of the tie, but the away side did manage to have something to show for their efforts with two quick-fire goals, one coming courtesy of Steven Jones.

The hosts completed the scoring on 75 minutes when Summers-Jones sealed his brace, with home custodian Leon Jones producing a moment of magic late on to deny Jack Jones from the penalty spot.

Carl Jones was the star of the show for Nefyn United in their dramatic 7-4 win at Mynydd Llandegai.

The forward netted three times during the contest to lead his side to success, with Dylan Sion Jones, Steve Jones (2) and Iolo Jones also finding the net.

Goals from Nathan Moore and Gary Bolton gave Aberffraw a 2-1 victory over Glan Conwy, with efforts from Rob Daniels and Gavin Edwards securing a 2-1 win for Nantlle Vale over in-form Bodedern Athletic.

Prolific striker Meilir Williams betted a treble in Blaenau Ffestiniog Amateurs’ 4-2 triumph at Mochdre Sports, and Llanrug United booked their place in the hat with a resounding 5-0 home success over Llanfairfechan Town thanks to strikes from Kev Lloyd, Iwan Edwards, Jon Sadler and Gavin Lloyd-Jones.

Llanberis achieved a notable 3-1 win at St Asaph City to advance, with Gethin Wakeham, Nidian Huws and Tomos Saynor all on target.