THE Leader of Gwynedd Council, Cllr Dyfrig Siencyn, has announced his new cabinet.

Cllr Nia Jeffreys (Porthmadog East) becomes deputy leader, with responsibility for the economy and the main cross-departmental programmes.

There are four new members joining the cabinet, who are:

• Cllr Elin Walker Jones (Glyder) who will lead on children and young people.

• Cllr Menna Jones (Bontnewydd) who is the cabinet member for corporate support and the legal service.

• Cllr Beca Brown (Llanrug) is the new member with responsibility for education.

• Cllr Berwyn Parry Jones has been appointed to be responsible for municipal and highways and Gwynedd Consultancy.

Elsewhere, Cllr Dafydd Meurig (Arllechwedd) continues to be a cabinet member leading on the environment.

Cllr Craig ab Iago (Pen-y-groes) continues to lead the portfolio for housing and property.

Cllr Ioan Thomas (Menai – Caernarfon) continues in his role as cabinet member for finance and information technology.

Cllr Dilwyn Morgan (Y Bala) also keeps his place as a cabinet member, moving to adults, health and wellbeing.

Cllr Siencyn said: “I look forward to working with the new cabinet team as we work towards our aim of providing the best possible services for the people of Gwynedd.

“We have a new and exciting team with a fine blend of experienced voices and new enthusiastic members.

“I’m also pleased that this is the most gender balanced cabinet that Gwynedd Council has seen.

“We will be giving our all to the challenges ahead.”