PLAID Cymru's Rhun ap Iorwerth comfortably held the Ynys Môn Senedd seat.

First elected in a 2013 by-election, the former broadcast journalist retained his seat with a majority of 9,817 votes over the Conservatives.

The Welsh Conservatives aw Cardiff councillor Lyn Hudson poll at 5,689 with Sam Egelstaff, a Llanrwst-based teacher, nudged into third place on 5,300 votes for Welsh Labour.

Mr ap Iorwerth said: "Its hugely humbling when the community you were brought up in gives you that sort of backing to represent them in our nation's Parliament.

"I will repay the faith they have shown in me by continuing to work as hard as I always have strived to do since being elected nearly eight years ago.

"I'm a firm believer in positive campaigning, I didn't talk about the other parties and what they were doing, I wanted to have a conversation with the people of Anglesey.

"The Facebook Live sessions I've been doing every Monday night came up on every street almost, people saying they appreciated having access to their elected member, and we felt that was likely to lead to strong support and it did.

"That is how I will continue to try and represent them, its our island."

Ynys Môn result:

  • Rhun ap Iorwerth (Plaid Cymru) 15,506
  • Sam Egelstaff (Welsh Labour) 5,300
  • Lyn Hudson (Welsh Conservatives) 5,689
  • Emmett Jenner (Reform UK) 692
  • Chris Jones (Liberal Democrat) 547