ANGLESEY League runners-up for 2018/19 - Caergybi - have been promoted to the Gwynedd League this week.

Amid several rumours surrounding whether their application for promotion into the higher division would be accepted or not, the club itself has now confirmed that it has been granted.

Manager Dale Moffat said: "We are delighted to announce that, after a lot of waiting and hard work behind the scenes, we have been granted promotion to the Gwynedd league.

"We are really looking forward to the new challenge."

Established in the summer of 2017, Caergybi has taken the Anglesey League by storm over the last two seasons.

In their first year as a club, the squad showed its potential, going on to lift the Megan Cup by defeating Bryngwran Bulls.

The 2018/19 season proved to be even better for Moffat's side as they claimed a cup double - again beating Bryngwran Bulls in two separate finals to win the Dargie and Lucas Oil Cups.

Despite missing out on the league title to The Bulls by just the one point, Cybi have now been granted promotion to the Gwynedd League for their efforts as their Millbank facilities have been deemed suitable.

The news of their promotion means that the Anglesey League will once again be an eleven team division, featuring Arriva Bangor, Bodorgan, Cemaes Bay, Cefni, Hotspur Reserves, Holyhead Town Reserves, Llandegfan, Llanfairpwll, Mountain Rangers, Pentraeth Reserves and Valley for the 2019/20 campaign.