LLANGEFNI'S new town mayor is Cllr Margaret Thomas and the deputy mayor is Cllr Non W Parry.

The councillors were unanimously elected for the forthcoming year at the Llangefni Town Council AGM on Monday, May 13. Both have been members of the town council for many years and will continue with their commitment to the community and town of Llangefni.

Cllr Thomas has been a town councillor for more than 20 years and has previously served as the Llangefni town mayor. She has promoted activities and decisions affecting the town, and was a prime mover in retaining the town centre markets on Thursdays and Saturdays.

Cllr Parry has been an active member of the town council and led a team of the town’s flood group, which has developed flood prevention and action strategies. The outgoing mayor, Cllr. Ieuan Davies thanked members and staff for all their support during his year of office.