BRYNGWRAN BULLS have claimed the first piece of Anglesey League silverware this season, beating cup holders Arriva Bangor 2-0 in the Elias Cup final.

The two sides squared off at Bangor City's Eurogold stadium on Friday night and it was a tightly-fought contest for the most part, with both teams cautious of conceding that first goal.

A fairly lacklustre first half with very little chances saw the teams go into half-time at 0-0.

In the second 45 minutes, Richard Owen's Bulls stepped it up a gear and the cracks began to show in Arriva's back line.

They took the lead on the hour mark when a long ball from goalkeeper Konner Druce found midfielder Greek Nik Kontodios who popped up with a great finish, chipping the ball over onrushing goalkeeper Dion Lewis and into the back of the net.

From there on out, it was one way traffic as Arriva failed to create any real chances on the break. Man of the Match Kontodios scored again ten minutes later with another neat finish to ensure that the Elias Cup would be returning to Anglesey and not Gwynedd this time around.

After the match, Bulls manager Richard Owen said: "It feels great to have had such a fantastic win over a very good Arriva side.

"I felt pretty confident going into the game after the way we came back into the game against them in the Junior Cup (won 5-4 in Extra Time three weeks ago) and this time around we went into the game with almost a full squad.

North Wales Chronicle:

PICTURE: Bulls manager Richard Owen with his assistant Carwyn Jones and the Elias Cup. PICTURE: Wynne Evans.

"From the off, I felt we bossed it and the boys upped their game in the second half and showed the form we had over the Christmas period.

"It's always great to win the first final of the season and still being in another few puts us in a fantastic place at the minute especially when we have to go and play Arriva in the league as well. It gives the boys a much needed boost."

Line ups: Arriva Bangor - Dion Lewis (GK), Liam Jones, Matthew Williams, Stephen Edwards, Luke Lloyd, Danny Camilleri, Darren Edmunds, Marc Williams (C), Ben Hulse, Mark Thomas and Scott Hughes. Subs: Chris Dawson, Tyler Looney and Kieron Davies.

Bryngwran Bulls - Konner Druce (GK), John Jones, Arwyn Williams, Anton Williams, Tom Verburg, Iolo Jones (C), Nik Kontodios, Matty Reynolds, Jerome Sillence, Craig Moore and Matty Roberts. Subs: Mark Hamblin, Tony Meyer and Gwynfor Owen.