CRICKET - Romida North Wales Cricket League round up


Geraint Jones

Mold 137 all out
Menai Bridge 139 for 3
Menai Bridge won by 7 wickets

MENAI Bridge opened up an 18 point lead at the top of the Romida North Wales Cricket Premier Division with a comfortable win over mid table Mold.

Mold won the toss and elected to bat, with opener Russell Wiseman (37) and Stewart Roberts (32) making up for the early loss of Thomas North for 5.

Gerallt Roberts (3 for 37) and Ashley Wood (4 for 20) took hold of the game, however, with Craig Roberts and all rounder John Crane both lbw for a duck.

Crane (2 for 36) went some way to redeem himself when he sent Bridge opener Luke Jones packing for a duck.

However, Nathan Shearer (59) and Robbie Jones (68) did the damage for the Bridge, and an unbeaten 8 from Danny Creek ensured the 7 wicket victory.

Llandudno are still in with a shout of taking the title, despite their seven wicket loss at Mochdre, but Bangor could strike the deciding blow in the title race when the top two clash on Saturday, August 27.

Bangor 251 for 9
Connah’s Quay 252 for 2
Connah’s Quay won by 8 wickets

A SUPERB display with the bat by Darren Jones helped to condemn hard working Bangor to defeat in their Premier Division clash with third place Connah’s Quay.

The visitors put Bangor into bat, and openers Mathew Jackson (44) and Gwilym Lloyd Jones (46) got the home side off to a good start.

Aussie all rounder Shane Mott posted 31 as Bangor looked strong with a total of 251 for 9.

However, Connah’s Quay were in no mood to crumble, and Jones posted an unbeaten 90 to put the pressure on Bangor.

Opener David Fox (45) impressed, while Martin Burger (47) and David Powell (41 not out) sealed Bangor’s fate, as Connah’s Quay surpassed their target with eight wickets to spare.

Bangor II 184 for 5 declared
Bethesda 144 for 9
Winning draw for Bangor II

BANGOR Seconds were unfortunate not to get the victory as Pesda dug in to take a share of the points.

The Bangor innings got off to a rocky start, with Qasim Ijaz and Colin Meek out for 4 and 2 respectively.

However, excellent showings from David Hughes (63) and Faisal Kahn (62) steadied the ship, and un beaten stands from Babur Javed Khan (24) and Christopher Randall saw Bangor set a target of 184 for 5. Ijaz (3 for 11) was also effective in attack, and Pesda needed 51 from Robbie Creek to calm the nerves, after the visitors had been 2 for 21.

However, Dewi Roberts’ 12 was the highest score after Creek was lbw by Gareth W Edwards, but 144 for 89 off 50 overs was enough to earn a draw.

Menai Bridge II 147 all out
Gresford 149 for 7
Gresford won by 3 wickets

MENAI Bridge seconds were undone by impressive bowling as Gresford eaked out a home win.

Stephen Lloyd (3 for 14) was in good form for the home side, with Stuart Williams’ 31 the highlight of an innings in which Aled Hughes and Nick Evans both went for a duck.

Ruthin 254 for 5
Anglesey Aluminium 96 all out
Ruthin won by 158 runs

MATTHEW Duckworth (97) and William Jones (76) sealed AA’s fate in their Division Three clash against Ruthin.

Craig Newey’s 17 was as good as it got for the Anglesey side, with only four batsmen reaching double figures, as AA struggled to 96 off 24 overs.

St Asaph II 62 all out
Bodedern 63 not out
Bodedern won by 10 wickets

AN IMPRESSIVE attacking performance at Presaddfed against St Asaph Seconds helped Bodedern regain top spot in Division Three.

Teen prodigy Aiden Williams (3 for 12), Edward Gadsby (2 for 14) and Barry Lander (2 for 13) were in fine form, as a weakened St Asaph order struggled to 62 on a good batting track.

Unbeaten stands from Lander (31) and Johnjo Roberts (21) sealed the victory in 13 overs.

Bethesda II 76 all out
Llandudno III 77 for two
Llandudno II won by 8 wickets

AN UNBEATEN 37 from Ioan Roberts look as thought it would steady a shaky Pesda Seconds innings in their Division Four clash with Llandudno.

However, Gethin Jones and Ian Hughes were went for a duck as Pesda stumbled to 76 all out off 30 overs.

Llandudno’s openers set the stage, and unbeaten stands for David Edwards (10) and David Barlow (11) eased the visitors to an eight wicket win.

Menai Bridge III 269 for 7
Buckley II
Menai Bridge win by 193 runs

A STORMING 114 from Cefyn Owen drove Menai Bridge to a comprehensive Division Five home victory over Buckley.

Andy Goodwin (4 for 45) and Manjunath Shetthalli (3 for 5) moped up the visiting order to ensure a convincing victory.

Bodedern II 178 for 4
Halkyn 179  for 6
Halkyn won by 4 wickets

A SUPERB showing with ball and bat was not enough to save Bodedern Seconds from defeat in their Division Five encounter with Halkyn.

Jones hit an unbeaten 76 as Bodedern reached 178 for 4, but his haul of 3 for 18 could not stop Halkyn, whose openers Graham Dansfield (33) and Gareth Prestidge (35)

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Read